I’ve About Had It…

…with these anti-religious memes I find on Facebook. Here’s another one:

How in the world is this NOT bigotry?

How in the world is this NOT hate or hate speech?

How in the world is this NOT narrow-mindedness?

How in the world is this NOT fundamentalism?

And…this meme, from what I’m reading here, pretty much addresses the Judeo-Christian-Muslim traditions. Whoever came up with this silly thing equates the word “religion” with those traditions only.

He or she clearly would not include something like Wicca, or Hinduism, or Buddhism, or the Native American indigenous traditions, or Asatru, etc, among the category of “religions.” But they are “religions.”

I remember reading about an event that happened during the French Revolution. Madame Marie-Jeanne Phlippon Roland was executed by decapitation, and her last words were “O liberty, O liberty! What crimes are committed in thy name!” She could just as easily have said “O reason, O reason! What crimes are committed in thy name!”

So be careful, atheists and nonbelievers, that you don’t fall into the very trap of fundamentalism that you yourselves complain about…

4 thoughts on “I’ve About Had It…

  1. danielwalldammit April 8, 2012 at 6:17 pm Reply

    Tu quoque for the win!

  2. TLH April 8, 2012 at 6:42 pm Reply

    Hey, so be it. 😉

  3. alizahcook April 8, 2012 at 7:10 pm Reply

    It’s arsehattery at its finest. I have found that since I have been a CONSCIOUSLY observant Jew, my “friends” who were fine with me being a Pagan are not so fine with me practising my birth faith. I find that these “memes” are posted willy nilly on my FB by these people, hence why I have my new FB profile. I have one “friend” who has a fiance best described as a “Jewitch”. They were so supportive when I first started exploring Judaism and finding out about my roots. The last two times I have been to their state to visit, I have had piss poor excuses to avoid seeing me, yet I see on FB all the activities done instead.

    You will find too, that as a committed Christian, you may have to cull your friends and make new ones. It sucks, and it hurts, but sometimes, people are douchebags. And these memes proves it.

    *hugs*

    • TLH April 8, 2012 at 9:20 pm Reply

      Yes, I’ve had to do some “spring cleaning” of my friends list. It’s why I DID end up creating a second profile there. I’m a bit more selective with the newer profile, the one you see.

Leave a Reply

