Now I Know

Now I know what’s up with me.

I have diabetes.

I knew I would. I always thought it wasn’t so much a matter of “if” but “when.”

Given that my father had it, my mother has it, her brother has it, their grandfather had it…yep, I knew this was coming.

For some reason, I feel really empowered about it. I know I can handle this. Hah!

Ok so there we have it.

EDT: Wanted to include some further info…

Blood sugar level: 195 (this was tested today at the doctor’s office when the nurse showed me how to use my new meter)

Food so far today:

Breakfast: 1 apple
Lunch: Subway black forest ham salad (spinach, tomato, black olives, ham, cukes) honey-mustard dressing
Snack: 2 small sugar-free Russel Stover candies (chocolate, caramel, nuts)

Those Russel Stovers are really good, by the way. Tastes exactly like real candy to me. So I can satisfy my sweet/chocolate craving with sugar-free candies. These contain Splenda instead of sugar.

Now, I was going to go for a walk today but I turned my ankle while trying on shoes at Payless, so maybe I shouldn’t walk on it right now. We’ll see how I feel later. Meanwhile, I got two new pairs of sandals to replace my two old beaten up pairs! Yay!

EDIT 2: Jumped into the pool and got about half an hour of swimming in. If I keep doing this, I think it will help.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

